Q:  What should I do after I’ve been injured in an auto accident?

A:  Your top priority if you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident is to get immediate medical attention. Even if the injury appears minor, some take time before their seriousness becomes apparent. Also check on your passengers to see if anyone else needs medical assistance. If you are able, speak to witnesses and write down as much information as possible about what happened and who saw the accident. It’s also a good idea to take pictures with your cell phone. Call the police even if you don’t think the accident was particularly serious. Later, you can request a copy of the police report.

 

Q:  When is the right time to call an attorney about my case?

A:  It’s a mistake to try to handle your injury case alone. The sooner you speak to an experienced personal injury lawyer, the sooner you’ll find out (a) whether you have a case for damages, and (b) what your case is worth.

 

Q:  What do I say when the insurance company calls me and asks questions about the accident?

A:  You may receive calls from your insurance company or an insurance company for one of the other people involved in the accident. We suggest that you refrain from speaking to any insurance company (other than to report that the accident occurred). They are interested in settling your claim for the lowest possible amount of money. They are not interested in helping you out. Let your attorney deal directly with the insurers.

 

Q:  How long do I have to file a personal injury lawsuit in Arizona?

A:  As a general rule, most personal injury cases, including those resulting from auto accidents, must be filed within 2 years from the time the accident occurs, although there are exceptions. One of those exceptions involves actions against public entities and public employees, in which case a notice of claim must be filed within 180 days, and the statute of limitations (the time for filing a lawsuit) is 1 year.

 

Q:  What types of compensation can I get as a result of my injury?

A:  The compensation to which you are entitled will, of course, depend on the type and severity of your injury, and the effects of that injury on your present and future daily life. Your case may lead to the recovery of damages for medical bills (past and future), lost wages or income, and pain and suffering, among others.

 

Q:  How much is my case worth?

A:  The monetary value of a car accident case will vary according to the nature and effect of the injury, the time you are incapacitated, the amount of pain and suffering involved, the presence of any permanent injuries, and more. At the Kelly Law Team, we can place a value on your case for purposes of settlement and/or trial. That value will include both economic damages (lost wages, medical bills, etc.), and non-economic damages (pain and suffering, disfigurement, loss of the enjoyment of life, etc.).

 

Q:  Can I still recover damages even if I was partially at fault in the accident?

A:  Yes. In Arizona, as long as another party is partially at fault, you are entitled to recover the percentage of your damages attributable to that party. It is only when you are totally at fault that you will be unable to collect damages.

 

Q:  If I’m out of work because of the injury I received in an accident, how am I going to pay for a lawyer to represent me?

A:  The Kelly Law Team does not charge a client fees in a personal injury case until we win your case. We also offer a free evaluation during which we will review what happened, and talk to you about how we should proceed, and what we believe your case is worth.

Car accidents often lead to serious injuries. If you have suffered an injury in a car crash, speak to a lawyer who knows the answers to the questions on your mind. Contact Phoenix personal injury attorney John Kelly to find out what do to in order to maximize the recovery in your case.

Call the Kelly Law Team at 602-283-4122

Car Accident FAQ’s
5 (100%) 1 vote